Blog Hop II–The Name Game

As if one Blog Hop wasn’t enough for members of Team Pepper, our gracious host, Mark Bialczak has given us a new challenge with another, unique Blog Hop game – The Name Game.  I was nominated for this go-round by lindaghill. Thank you so much, Linda!

Here Are the Rules:

1. Write a paragraph or two about somebody from an ordinary walk of life with a unordinary name. It can either be a true story about somebody you know with that name, or a fictional piece about somebody with a name you made up.

2. After you’re done posting your story, send me an email to markbialczak@gmail.com with your Blog Hop II, your blog name and either TRUE STORY or MADE IT UP in the subject line.

3. Pick another Nano Poblano team member from the home page and tag them on their About page. Try to spread the wealth around from Fish of Gold’s original blog hop to start, but duplication is OK as the month rolls along.

4. The writing cutoff is Nov. 28. By the end of Nov. 29, email to me at markbialczak@gmail.com a list with a guess of TRUE STORY or MADE UP for each post on the blog hop. Put Blog Hop II, Final Guesses in the subject line.

5. The Nano Poblano team member with the most correct answers wins a special prize, which I will mail to them. That means you will have to email me your address if you win.

6. Add your link to the chain of writers.

7. Have fun.

My Story:  Lucy

 

A long time ago in a land far away, I visited my brother at Ft. Benning, Georgia, who was, at that time, a lowly lieutenant. He met a Georgia peach after returning home from Viet Nam and they married. On this particular day of my visit, the Georgia peach threw a temper tantrum because she was sick of being required to attend this or that or do this or that when my brother’s commanding office snapped his pudgy fingers. While my brother was dodging assorted household objects the peach was throwing at him, I piped in that I could go in her place. It was called a “meet and greet” or something like that. The peach calmed down and my brother swore he would pay me back for my efforts. So, I dressed and off we went to the obligatory cocktail party hosted by the fuhrer commanding officer.

Everyone was pleasant and his commanding office threatened to leave his wife for me. I immediately became embedded with the enemy: the Tupperware lady. I managed to hold my own and was surprised how much I knew about Tupperware. I escaped with my life and found my brother was talking to a nice-looking guy who he introduced as “Captain Carl Marx” with a “C” for Carl instead of the “K”. The way his parents spelled his first name did not matter. The effect of the whole name plagued Captain Marx all his life.  Once I was relieved of pent-up laughter, Carl Marx pointed to a gentleman in the corner who was one of the dentists on the post and a friend of the commanding officer, whose name was “Dr. Paine”. You can imagine my reaction.

 

Who has contributed so far?

Markbialczak

Silver Threading

The Chatter Blog

MeWhoAmI

Lindaghill

And me Lucy at the Excessive gardener

 

Next in line, I call on DebraB at Debra Books

Image

 

 

8 thoughts on “Blog Hop II–The Name Game

Your excessive thoughts, please